MobiDE 2010
Ninth International ACM Workshop on Data Engineering for Wireless and Mobile Access
June 6th, 2010, Indianapolis, Indiana, USA (in conjunction with SIGMOD/PODS 2010)

Call for Papers
>> pdf, text
Topics of Interest
Camera-Ready Instructions

Conference info:

Previous workshops:
MobiDE 2009
MobiDE 2008
MobiDE 2007
MobiDE 2006
MobiDE 2005
MobiDE 2003
MobiDE 2001
MobiDE 1999

Academic Sponsors

Industrial Sponsors


Call for Papers

        9th ACM International Workshop on Data Engineering
            for Wireless and Mobile Access (MobiDE'10)
         Sunday, June 6, 2010 / Indianapolis, Indiana USA
              (collocated with ACM SIGMOD/PODS 2010)



This is the ninth of a successful series of workshops that aims to act as a bridge between the data management, wireless networking, and mobile computing communities.
The 1st MobiDE workshop took place in Seattle (August 1999), in conjunction with MobiCom 1999; the 2nd MobiDE workshop took place in Santa Barbara (May 2001), together with SIGMOD 2001; the 3rd MobiDE workshop took place in San Diego (September 2003), together with MobiCom 2003; the 4th MobiDE workshop was held in Baltimore (June 2005). In 2006, MobiDE was organized in Chicago (June 2006). The 6th MobiDE was held in Beijing, China (June 2007). The 7th MobiDE was held in Vancouver, Canada in June 2008 and MobiDE 2009 was held in Providence, Rhode Island in June 2009. The last five MobiDE workshops were held together with the SIGMOD conference. MobiDE 2009 marked the 10-year anniversary of the workshop. The workshop will serve as a forum for researchers and technologists to discuss the state-of-the-art, present their contributions, and set future directions in data management for mobile and wireless access. The topics of interest related to mobile and wireless data engineering include, but are not limited to: * ad-hoc networked databases
* consistency maintenance and management
* context-aware data access and query processing
* data caching, replication and view materialization
* data publication modes: push, broadcast, and multicast
* data server models and architectures
* database issues for moving objects: storing, indexing, etc.
* energy-efficient techniques for mobile data management
* m-commerce
* mobile access and sensing with smart phones
* mobile agent models and languages
* mobile data management in the cloud
* mobile database privacy and security
* mobile databases in scientific, medical, and engineering applications
* mobile peer-to-peer applications and services
* mobile sensor network databases
* mobile transaction models and management
* mobile web services
* mobile workflow management
* mobility-aware data mining and warehousing
* mobility awareness and adaptability
* pervasive computing
* prototype design of mobile databases
* quality of service for mobile databases
* static sensor network databases
* transaction migration, recovery and commit processing
* wireless multimedia systems
* wireless web
The workshop will be organized in a manner that fosters interaction and exchange of ideas among the participants. Besides paper presentations, time will be allocated to open discussion forums, informal discussions or panels. In addition to regular papers, vision or work-in-progress papers that have the potential to stimulate debate on existing solutions or open challenges are especially encouraged. Proposals for panels on newly-emerging or controversial topics are also especially welcome. IMPORTANT DATES Regular Paper Submissions: Wed, April 7, 2010 (midnight EST) Notification of acceptance: Mon, April 26, 2010 Camera-ready version due: Mon, May 10, 2010 Workshop date: Sun, Jun 6, 2010 SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS AND PROCEEDINGS The workshop proceedings will be published by ACM. Electronic versions of the papers will be included in the ACM DL and DiSC'09. Select papers from MobiDE 2010 will also be included in a journal special issue. All of the submissions will be handled electronically. Each paper will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Detailed submission information will be posted on the web site of the workshop ( Full research papers should be formatted in the ACM proceedings format and be at most 8 double-columned pages in 9pt font. ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Workshop Co-Chairs: Phillip B. Gibbons Intel Labs Pittsburgh E-mail: Demetris Zeinalipour Department of Computer Science University of Cyprus, Cyprus E-mail: Program Co-Chairs: Hui Lei IBM T.J. Watson Research E-mail: Suman Nath Microsoft Research Redmond E-mail: Publicity Chair: Antonios Deligiannakis Department of Electronics and Computer Engineering Technical University of Crete, Greece E-mail: STEERING COMMITTEE Le Gruenwald University of Oklahoma, USA Yannis Kotidis AUEB, Greece Dik Lun Lee HKUST, Hong Kong Pedro Jose Marron University of Duisburg-Essen and Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany George Samaras University of Cyprus, Cyprus Demetris Zeinalipour University of Cyprus, Cyprus PROGRAM COMMITTEE Walid G. Aref, Purdue University, USA Christian Becker, University of Mannheim, Germany Claudio Bettini, University of Milan, Italy Paul Castro, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Panos K. Chrysanthis, University of Pittsburgh, USA Antonios Deligiannakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece Michael J. Franklin, University of California Berkeley, USA Takahiro Hara, Osaka University, Japan Christian S. Jensen, Aalborg University, Denmark Vana Kalogeraki, Athens University of Economics and Business Yannis Kotidis, AUEB, Greece Wang Chien Lee, Pennsylvania State University, USA Feifei Li, Florida State University, USA Hua Lu, Aalborg University, Denmark Sanjay K. Madria, Missouri Uni. of Science and Technology, USA Mohamed Mokbel, University of Minnesota, USA Vladimir Oleshchuk, University of Agder, Norway Evaggelia Pitoura, University of Ioannina, Greece Claudia Roncancio, Grenoble INP / LIG, France Simonas Saltenis, Aalborg University, Denmark Mohamed Sharaf, The University of Queensland, Australia Jianwen Su, University of California Santa Barbara, USA Yannis Theodoridis, University of Piraeus, Greece Goce Trajcevski, Northwestern University, USA Vassilis Tsotras, University of California Riverside, USA Stratis D. Viglas, University of Edinburgh, UK Vladimir Zadorozhny, University of Pittsburgh, USA